Judges for Asian Acheivers Awards 2022


Shortlist announced for Asian Achievers Awards 2022

Author: AAA team

To find out more about the AAA and to attend, call us on 020 7993 6851.

LONDON, 15 AUGUST  2022: The shortlist for the prestigious Asian Achievers Awards for this year has been announced, and it contains business executives, Hollywood actresses and music stars that have found fame across the world.

South Asians in the UK today occupy leadership positions across a range of fields, including politics, business and civil society. The Awards recognise the outstanding work of such individuals right across the South Asian community.

Across ten categories including Art & Culture, Business Person of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year and Community Service, the AAA received more than 500 nominations, from which the Judges shortlist four per category, evenly divided between male and female candidates.

Included in the business names in the shortlist are Namit Malhotra, the Indian CEO of visual effects company DNEG, which has won seven Oscars, as well as Shamil and Kavi Thakrar, the co-founders of iconic London restaurant Dishoom.

Dr Zareen Roohi Ahmed is the Founder and CEO of Gift Wellness, championing an award-winning range of natural products, while Dr Debashis Bhattacharya is a surgeon by training and currently is the Global Director of Human Risk Management at Reckitt. Fellow shortlisted candidate Samir Desai founded Funding Circle in 2009, with over £13.7bn of loans provided to more than 122,000 businesses since inception.

Amongst the shortlist is also the Rt Hon Suella Braverman, the British politician and barrister who is the Attorney General for England and Wales. Captain Harpreet Chandi, a 32-year-old Indian-origin British Sikh army officer and physiotherapist also known as Polar Preet, has created history by becoming the first woman of colour to complete a solo unsupported trek to the South Pole.

Alongside them are Karenjeet Kaur Bains, first female Sikh powerlifter to represent Team GB and Mercury prize winner Charli XCX, who started writing songs at just 14 years old.

The Judging Panel for this year’s AAA was reflective of the diversity and experience of the nominations received. It includes Former Deputy Assistant Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police Bas Javid, Former President of the Royal College of General Practitioners Dr Mayur Lakhani CBE, COO of Monzo Bank Sujata Bhatia, music producer Bally Sagoo, Welsh Assembly Member Natasha Asghar and Artistic Director of the Darbar Festival Sandeep Virdee OBE.

Established in 2000 and held annually since then, the Awards return in 2022 following the pandemic. Hosted by global advisory firm EPG and supported by media partners Asian Voice, Gujarat Samachar, Zee TV and Sunrise Radio, the AAA are consistently recognised by the community as the most prestigious and highly respected such Awards in the calendar.

“The Asian Achievers Awards aim to celebrate Asian excellence across the UK. They harbour a special place in the community, documenting our growth and contribution to life in the country over the last two decades. We have been impressed by the breadth and calibre of nominations from across the country that came in this year which show quite how extensive our positive contribution is across all aspects British life,” according to Pratik Dattani, Managing Director, EPG.

Performers on the night include Brit Award nominee Rumer and star of TV’s Man Like Mobeen stand-up comedian Tez Ilyas, with Lord Jeffrey Archer conducting the charity auction in support of the chosen Charity Partner Pardada Pardadi.

Art and Culture:

  • Chandra Chakraborty
  • Charli XCX
  • Namit Malhotra
  • Simone Ashley

Business Person of the Year

  • Dr Debashis Bhattacharya
  • Dr Gordon Sanghera
  • Praveen Karadiguddi
  • Shamil and Kavi Thakrar

Community Service

  • Dev Trehan
  • Haris Kiani
  • Katharine Moana Birbalsingh CBE
  • Krishna Pujara
  • Zareen Roohi Ahmed

Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Samir Desai
  • Shahid Munir
  • Shamash Alidina
  • Sherry Vaswani

Lifetime Achievement Award

To be announced on the night


  • Aasmah Mir
  • Ahmed Hussain
  • Naga Munchetty
  • Raj Baddhan

Professional of the Year

  • Dr Manu Agrawal
  • Naina Bhattacharya
  • Sir Shankar Balasubramanian
  • Viresh Paul

Special Award for Business Leadership

To be announced on the night

Special Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

To be announced on the night

Sports Personality of the Year

  • Amir Khan
  • Karenjeet Kaur Bains
  • Millie Chandarana
  • Salma Bi

Uniformed and Civil Service

  • Alisa Ahmad
  • Captain Harpreet Chandi
  • Sal Naseem

Woman of the Year

  • Emb Hashmi
  • Raga D’silva
  • Rita Chowdhry
  • The Rt Hon Suella Braverman

To find out more about the AAA and to book your ticket, visit asianachieversawards.com or call 020 7993 6851.